News Story

JUPS Major Wins Prestigious McTighe Prize

The Office of the Provost has announced that the 2017 McTighe Priza has been awarded to Matt Behrens. Matt is a member of the Class of 2018, and is pursuing a major in Justice and Peace Studies and a minor in Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences. Matt will be the 2017-2018 New Student Convocation student speaker this fall.

The McTighe Prize is named in honor of Dr. Thomas P. McTighe, now deceased, who was a faculty member at Georgetown for over 40 years and former chair of the Philosophy Department.

The prize is awarded each year by the New Student Convocation Committee to an outstanding undergraduate who has demonstrated superior achievement in scholarship and service to Georgetown and the community.